19
May
08

MSN China’s Rainbow Project is Total Bull

Now, I’m not sure if you already know this, but MSN China is co-operating with Toyota China to launch their Rainbow Project, in which for every user that puts in a rainbow in their personal message, MSN China will donate RMB0.20 to rebuild the schools.

To sum it up:

Yeah, this pisses me off, and for 2 (obviously biased and uninformed)reasons:

1. Is Microsoft stupid?

Think about it. Microsoft is a bloody big giant, and Bill Gates alone has over 50 billion bucks to his name. Is it so difficult to make one single donation, maybe a million or two, directly to Si Chuan without wasting time waiting for enough people to put a rainbow in their personal message?

Alright, this isn’t the first time MSN pulled something like this. Remember this guy? :

Yes, it’s the i’m Initiative, in which you stick one of many emote codes in your personal message, all of which show the same “i’m” icon, and you get to donate to the charity of your choice.

Alright, THIS, I can forgive, since all these charities actually need a constant supply of money to keep on going, and this would be one way to do it.

In the case of Si Chuan, though, the victims need the cash ASAP, considering the state they’re in, and Microsoft simply using this oppurtunity to try and gain more MSN users is simply despicable.

Oh, and you have to be an MSN China user to be part of the Project.

2. Are we idiots?

Seriously though, why the hell are people buying this? Look, I’m not saying you SHOULDN’T sit there and do squat, but how are we supposed to trust that MSN is actually donating a small amount (a hideously tiny amount actually) to the victims?

If you’re saying I’m a selfish bastard, well, you’re partly right, but you’re partly wrong too. People actually came in during a lab lesson in the polytechnic, collecting for the disaster victims, and guess what – I donated. With my own damn money.

Alright, I didn’t donate that much either (hence the “partly right” part), but I’ll donate more when I get the chance, considering I apparently save up too much allowance.

The point is, I don’t depend on some software giant to make my donations for me, and neither should you. At least, don’t bother switching your country in your MSN profile to China.

If you want to flame me for this post, feel free to do so in the comments. ^^

[Via K-Director.com]

7 Responses to “MSN China’s Rainbow Project is Total Bull”


  1. May 19, 2008 at 7:35 am

    Next time, please actually post about something interesting? This was fascinating enough, I agree with most of your viewpoints, but since we can only participate in this scheme if we have China MSN, I fail to see the importance of this really for random people like me and for people in Singa.

    Anyway, as I said, next time something more cool?Iunno, what you told me about doing Game Reviews sounds awesome. =]

    BTW, I couldn’t help but crack up when I saw that you had like, three entries. I know, I know, you’ll eventually put in more, but it was still funny. Haha.

  2. May 20, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Score one for Capitalism!

    Capitalise on the present situation for your own goals! Regardless, the ethos may be better if Microsoft positioned it as sending $0.20 on behalf of MSN users if the latter places a rainbow in their own nicknames

  3. 3 SaLaNoS
    May 20, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Very valid points.

    I agree with you.

    Hmm, I always thought those ‘I’m’s were just a trend… didn’t know it was one of those… initiatives.

    I like those little icons with their speech.

  4. 4 Anonymous
    May 21, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Ask MSN China these things..lol http://info.msn.com.cn/caihong/rainbow.html
    Could be for endorsing Toyota.Just guessing

  5. May 21, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    I agree completely.

    MSN pretty much fails at stuff like this >_>

  6. 6 diana twiNKLEs
    June 5, 2008 at 3:20 am

    ahahx..i noe this comments are like too late..but i just got interested in the way u type ur entries and the comments u received…

    GREAT ONE FAZLI!! hehe..

    and abt the rainbow rite…i dun get it why isit oni in China? hmmm..everyone would love to help rite? they should all be given a chance to contribute..and i dun even noe whther it really works lar..

    so well..i think the best way is to donate like normally..thru flagdays or money collections…ahahx..

  7. 7 Alexwebmaster
    March 3, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru


Leave a Reply

I has moved!

Pages

del.icio.us! :D


