29
May
08

So I tried NeoSteam

I decided to try playing yet another MMO, since I’m really bored looking for a new experience, maybe even find that “epic MMO” I’ve been looking for.

…nah.

NeoSteam appears to be a free-roaming MMO with 3 nations (only 2 so far, third one in development), and you have 4 classes: fighter, mage, rogue, and craftor. Pretty much normal, with the exception of the craftor, whose purpose is to provide weapons, armor, and various doodads in a guild.

The game has 6 races in total, but with the exception of the Pom (the cute little furry guys in the first pic above), most races only have a single sex. Yes, even the humans are male-only apparently. -_-

Graphics-wise, the game doesn’t look all that wonderful, even at max visual settings. I have the feeling the quality scales according to CPU speed and whatnot, but I can’t really say for sure until I’ve played this game for long enough.

Combat is pretty straightforward, just right-click an enemy mob to attack it. I started out as a craftor, and you start out automatically with 3 skills: one attack skill(a spell if you’re a mage, otherwise a basic sword skill), and 2 self-buffs (same for all races/classes). You’re also provided with “newbie boxes” that can only be opened at a certain level which give you useful stuff like slotted weapons (more on that later) and pots.

You also start out with a pet, which doesn’t do anything until you hand it over to the Pet NPC and tell it to perform an “evolution”, after which he’ll tell you to complete a task (kill 1 or 2 XXX and return in 20 mins) before he’ll do it for you.

Pets can evolve into 3 kinds of pets: attack, healing, and thief. I evolved my pet into an attack pet, also known as a Salamander in my nation, Elerd.

It gives it the ability to attack, (and be useful instead of sucking food for no reason at all) but it comes in a form of a passive skill that lets it attack once every 30 seconds, during which it’ll still float there and do nothing, and attacking makes it hungrier too.

The main source of energy in this game is (surprise surprise) Neosteam, which powers everything in this game, from the guns and bows to the modes of transportation, and even your machine skills.

“Your what?!

Oh, right, almost forgot about that. Unlike most MMOs, in which you can put a gem into a socketed item to “socket” it and give it additional stats/power, you socket in a machine which actually gives it a separate skill, powered by Neosteam instead of mana or stamina. One of the newbie boxes gives you a training machine and a socketed sword/staff to try this out, and the resulting skill gives 500 base damage.

Every piece of item you can wear (at least, your weapon and your armor) can be socketed with machines, so you’ll have machine attack skills from your socketed weapon, and buffs from the socketed armor, for example.

Everyone can store an amount of Neosteam, determined by the Neosteam “container” you’re equipped with. You top-up your Neosteam at special machines, which ration you a limit of Neosteam a day according to your level.

In Elerd, there are two main starting cities at opposite sides of the map, and to travel between them, you have to take the subway.

Yes, that’s the subway, in an in-game animation. Granted, it’s not much, but it’s something at least.

Travelling via steam balloons is a different story. From each balloon station, you either pick from one of 2/3 locations in the wild to fly to (which costs Neosteam), or you can pick a town on the map (which costs $$), but only if you bought the flight map.

Like all nation-based MMOs, NeoSteam has a central area in which all nations travel freely and can PK/PvP each other, and this is called Rear Town (I think). You travel there via the subway (though instead of a train, you see an animation of a submarine), and then from the city, you can travel to one of many areas built for certain level ranges, the first being from level 1 to level 30, and all these areas are shared among all nations, so be prepared.

I actually decided to start over from scratch, since I didn’t like constantly serving up weapons and all sorts of crap to a guild, and thus I picked a mage, and then chose summoner as my 2nd class. Moar pets ahoy, and no 30 second attack cooldown for summons either. ^^

Overall, the gameplay is alright, and although it is newbie-friendly, it is not that newbie-friendly. What I mean is, if you are totally new to MMOs and think this is a good one to start with, be prepared to grind over the help file for a bit before you can understand this game, since the intro quests only serve to explain the very basics of moving around and whacking basic mobs. Otherwise, if you think this MMO is for you, go for it.

Final rating: 6/10

11 Responses to “So I tried NeoSteam”


  1. 1 Hav0k
    June 8, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Good overview of the game. I like parts of features in the game, but overall it’s still pretty crappy. Graphics aren’t really scaled to CPU speed or anything, just a lot of people force AAx16 in order to get semi-decent graphics.

  2. 2 Joeystorm
    June 10, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Please, do me a favor and try Voyage Century. 😉

  3. 3 Infestor51
    June 25, 2008 at 10:15 am

    Graphics are scaled. One moment I had crappy textures, the next everything looked (semi) prettier.

    Voyage Century? Never heard of that before. Maybe I’ll add it to my list of MMOs to try out.

  4. 4 Sarah
    July 8, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    I’ve got to say, I just started playing Neosteam, and I actually like it more than any other free mmorpg I’ve played. The graphics are a ton better than a lot of “free” games (I think they’re pretty awesome, actually). Some games I’ve played have decent geographical graphics, but the characters have bland features and blurry eyes. This is way better than that.

    And I haven’t done any grinding yet (lvl 20). The quests basically level me up through the monsters I have to defeat and such.

    A nice feature you didn’t mention is that you don’t lose exp. when you die until you are over lvl 30. It’s nice for exploring and when you just happen to wander into an area where you get killed quickly.

    And there are “kinda” female humans, although they are called taxn humans. So there are plenty of cool females to choose from.

    ^_^ Basically, I think this game deserves more positivity.

  5. 5 Babar
    July 12, 2008 at 5:18 am

    NeoSteam is my favorite MMO of all time.

    A list of mmo’s ive played and what i think.
    WoW-not worth paying for,people are rude
    CABAL-laggs a lot, PtP players are always better
    Maple story-fun gets boring when lvl 50+ no pvp
    silkroad-not a lot to do
    2moons-boring,repetive
    runescape-gives me a headache :\
    RF-idk somethings just not right
    warhammer-its ok 5/10
    rappelz-6/10
    rohan5/10
    SUN-6/10
    9dragons-fun, not very interesting
    flyff-boring after 2nd job
    DOM- 7/10
    ghost online- PVP is nice 7/10
    and more i just cant remember at the moment

    neosteam just has it all.
    fun gameplay
    wars are really fun
    easy to get 1st job change
    nice graphics
    fun abilities
    the list just goes on

    NeoSteam is SO overlooked by a lot of mmo players..what a shame..

  6. 6 KingJ
    July 20, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    Well i havent played this game yet but for what ive heard it sounds like fun… I played flyff-BORING
    and WOW which is fun but it seems to be getting boring since Xpansion

    SOO i hope this is worth trying

  7. March 8, 2009 at 1:24 am

    Interesting site, i have bookmarked your blog for future referrence 🙂

  8. April 17, 2013 at 3:18 am

    I do not know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else experiencing issues with your site. It looks like some of the text on your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them too? This could be a problem with my web browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Many thanks

  9. April 29, 2013 at 5:59 am

    I’m very happy to find this website. I want to to thank you for your time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely savored every part of it and I have you book marked to look at new stuff in your website.

  10. May 7, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet
    my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  11. May 23, 2014 at 2:09 pm

    Right here is the perfect site for everyone
    who really wants to find out about this topic. You know a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic that has been written about for decades.
    Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!


Leave a Reply

I has moved!

Pages

del.icio.us! :D


