07
Jun
08

Sogong & amalloc (& team), I Salute You!

Liek, f*** yeah, the third episode of There She Is!! just came out.

More info (and links) after the jump. (Flash required to see the buttons)

I guess most of you guys are wondering what I’m talking about.

There She Is!! is a series of Flash-animated shorts, and the first short was released on 20 April 2003 according to the weekee.

The series was created by a guy known as amalloc, one of the 3 members of SamBakZa, who was inspired by the manhwa (Korean manga) drawn by his fellow member, Sogong.

Basically, the series revolves around a rabbit and a cat, named Doki and Nabi respectively, who somehow get into a relationship. Or at least, Doki “forces” Nabi into a relationship. ^.^’

Thing is, the world they live in considers love between both species a taboo, though they live peacefully with each other. Hence the reason for Nabi initially rejecting her, as seen in the first episode, and blablabla spoilerspoilerspoiler.

What I like most about the series is that:

  • Its style shares a similarity to the style found in Japanese anime, especially with those romance ones, eh.
  • It’s cute. Admit it. It is cute.
  • Every story has a basic plot, and yet the entire series (so far) share a similar (yet slightly hidden) theme, e.g. the rejection of society’s rules in exchange for true love.

When I first watched the first two episodes (or steps as they’re referred to), There She Is!! and Cake Dance! I was already drawn in by the reasons above; besides, the Korean songs helped too.

Then, amalloc announced that production of his third step, Doki & Nabi, had to be halted due to college (I think, Korean translation wasn’t that good), and I was afraid it might be dropped for good, though the development screenies he posted gave me a glimmer of hope.

He then announced a few months later (I think) that he teamed up with a company to help him produce his animations (under their name, of course), and finally, step 3 finally came out. God damn, that was a long wait, but sure was worth it, eh.

Although I had little idea on what to expect from step 3, considering what I’ve already seen from the first two, I wasn’t disappointed at all; in fact, I was impressed. I’m willing to bet that amalloc didn’t plan on making step 2 at all, seeing as how the first one can play along on its own, but as he went on, the detail of the lives of Doki and Nabi goes deeper, as well as the animation quality. ๐Ÿ˜€

I do wonder how the timeline goes though. We have steps 1 and 2 (obviously), one being the introduction, the other being a (seemingly) random plot-line to introduce even more characters.

Then we have steps 3, 4, and 5. A trilogy, perhaps, seeing as how amalloc wants to link 3 and 4 together, what with the “to be continued” at the end of step 3. Step 3 covers Doki & Nabi’s first date, and step 2 covers Doki’s birthday party.

So it’s either:

  1. 1, 2, 3, 4 ,5; or
  2. 1, 3, 4, 5 ,2

I really have no idea which is which though. I could go ask amalloc myself via his bulletin board…perhaps! >.>

Oh yes, the links. Click each one to watch each step (and I recommend that you at least try to watch each one), and have fun!


In other news: I got my earphones, bitch! (No offense to any females visiting)

12 Responses to “Sogong & amalloc (& team), I Salute You!”


  1. June 8, 2008 at 1:29 am

    Can I call your ear now?

  2. 2 Sora911
    June 10, 2008 at 12:36 am

    Bunny looks soooo cute. ^_^

  3. 3 Joeystorm
    June 10, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    I’ve seen them, but never knew there was a story behind it… -___-

  4. 4 Kai93
    June 11, 2008 at 4:54 am

    Hai ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. 5 Infestor51
    June 16, 2008 at 2:08 am

    Links updated. Apparently WordPress doesn’t like Flash. Wth.

  6. 6 Infestor51
    June 25, 2008 at 10:14 am

    Oh yeah, if anyone needs the music used in all the flashes, just ask and I’ll post up an imeem playlist.

  7. 7 Some Guest
    August 22, 2008 at 7:01 am

    This might be a little late, but those who haven’t heard, Step 4 is out on the author’s website… (out since August 20, 2008)

    Be warned, as this one is QUITE different than the previous three.

    For maximum “enjoyability”, please watch all three in order before watching the fourth one.

    Bring a tissue. You’ll need it…

  8. 8 Infestor51
    August 22, 2008 at 7:27 am

    Wow, thanks for the heads up.

    I just watched it, didn’t realise you could twist the story that way. o.O

  9. 9 Damien
    November 17, 2008 at 1:11 am

    I love There she is, i watched Step 1 & 2 well over 2 years ago, then just today i found step 3 & 4 are out, oh my god, step 4 is brill, Poor Doki and Nabi!

  10. 10 Oni
    December 16, 2008 at 3:10 am

    Step 5 (the final one) is out now on the website.

  11. 11 Kirun
    January 14, 2009 at 2:17 am

    The fourth episode is so VERY SAD (!!), and the fifth and last is so adorable…..

  12. April 10, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Wow guys, thanks for keeping me up-to-date with the latest episodes. ^.^

    I enjoyed step 5 the most, though its kinda funny how the atmosphere can change all of a sudden.

    By the way, I made another review on the new blog here: http://kyourankyodai.com/2009/03/13/finishing-off-there-she-is/

    Might wanna head over there next time, this blog dead. ๐Ÿ˜›


Leave a Reply

I has moved!

Pages

del.icio.us! :D


