21
Sep
08

Games Convention Asia 2008 – Part 2

Treating GCA as an entire event instead of separate days seems to be the best approach now, so I’ll do just that.

This part will continue covering gaming and gadgets where part 1 left off (duh), while cosplay’s reserved for the 3rd part.

Just a few metres away from Runup was Zealot Digital, which was featuring their (only) game, Xenjo Online.

Xenjo Online is a cross-platform MMORPG developed by Soft-World, the same publisher for World of Warcraft in Taiwan. I believe it’s either a joint effort with Zealot Digital, or that Zealot’s going to publish the game here in Singapore.

The game is going to be released on both Xbox 360 and the PC, but as of now it’s really, really buggy. Strange stuff kept happening on the demo stations, such as the character’s 3D model suddenly getting squashed, or being unable to move at all.

The MMO feels like another generic one though, but the effects are cool to watch. There are no loading screens in between different areas though, and the game boasts different worlds on the same server, each having their own separate policies (lol politics) and themes.

It also has a language selector, able to switch between English and Mandarin, though this has to be done at the login screen, and applying changes exits the game, so you’ll have to manually restart it.

Trailer below:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

No details on launch date yet; maybe I’ll shoot Zealot an e-mail to confirm a date.

I headed towards the Elan Online booth next. Yes, it’s another MMORPG.

Elan Online plays almost exactly like Arad Senki AKA Dungeon & Fighter. I’m dead serious. If Arad Senki were to go 3D, and had a anime-esque makeover, it’d become Elan Online. After all, in both games,

  • You fight mobs (and level up) in instanced areas; there is no real open area full of mobs.
  • You travel through small areas which are connected together via portals, and some of these small areas make up a town.
  • You hit mobs in real-time, unlike that whole 1-click-and-afk thing most MMOs do.

I enjoyed Arad Senki, but since it was in Moonspeak (Japanese), I didn’t know what I was supposed to be doing, nor could I get a proper party of friends, so I left not too long after I joined.

When I looked at the homepage, I found some information regarding an activation card being necessary to enjoy the game after the initial 14-day trial (wtf?). When I brought this up to the guy in-charge of the booth, he said that they would be scrapping that idea, allowing the public to create accounts with no trial periods, paving way for Elan Online Version 2. However, this would only apply to the first character, and subsequent characters on the same account would require activation cards (up to 4).

You can, however, bypass this by creating multiple accounts, but you won’t be able to trade certain items between different accounts, which CAN be traded between different characters on the same account.

As the man put it, “money has to be made somewhere“.

Elan Online also boasts a point redemption system. As you play, you accumulate points, and during certain events, you would be able to redeem either in-game items or real-life merchandise (!).

Also, the website is outdated, and he has warned not to download the game client from it as they’ve only received the updated one a few days ago, and are going to host it soon, as well as revamping the entire website. I’ll post up a confirmation when he e-mails me, which is when all this has been taken care of.

Trailer below:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

I wouldn’t mind trying this game, at least while I’m waiting for Dragonica to head into Closed Beta. I might try the other game on display too, Immortals, though to be honest the graphics don’t seem to be functioning 100% yet (high quality settings = low quality settings).

Surprisingly, both games were being demo-ed on laptops. Easy setup FTW.

Digipen was there too, showcasing some of their students’ creations. Synaesthete, one of my favourite games from them, was given a mention, though it wasn’t loaded on any of their demo stations.

I had a chance to try out Toblo; it was sorta addicting, but the avatars in-game felt a bit too simple for my taste. Movable joints plz kthx.

I then headed to Temasek Polytechnic’s booth to check out this particular contraption:

It’s a device to simulate recoil, similar to how a gaming steering wheel reacts to crashes in an in-game race. I couldn’t figure out how I should be holding it, since there seemed to be buttons and triggers all over the place. The guy in-charge told me I should simply hold it by the orb with most of the buttons on it.

They had a game to demonstrate the device, basically a scripted shooter (House of the Dead-esque) to simulate recoil in the device.

Verdict? It sucked.

Granted, the device did simulate recoil, but pushing against the orb rendered it useless, as the recoil movement would be negated by the force I was already exerting. Boo.

TP also had some video running that looked like they were trying to create their own Second Life, but I didn’t feel compelled enough to watch for long.

There was also Nanyang Polytechnic’s attempt to recreate the F1 racing track in the virtual realm. Not too bad, actually.

The Saints Row 2 booth had to be hidden behind a curtain. There used to be a guy outside asking people whether they were 18+, but he seemed to be gone by the third day. ^.^;

Black Shot’s an MMO FPS, basically another online first-person shooter. It’s pretty much meh in terms of quality, and during the 4v4 matches involving all 8 demo machines, lag was abound. I played it on the 2nd day and owned everyone else with my trusty sniper rifle. XD

I wouldn’t play it myself though, it doesn’t look like it’d last long, at least not for me.

There were also “speaker chairs” from au:sense. I call ’em speaker chairs since they’re practically chairs with a full 5.1 surround sound system built-in. Recommended for audiophile couch potatoes, these babies can even simulate “feedback” from games simply by turning up the subwoofer all the way.

They were using SW: The Force Unleashed on a PS3 to demonstrate the chair, and Fariz was hogging it for an hour or two I believe. ^.^;

And finally, Cherry Credits. They made their first appearance in GCA ’07, and this year they actually got an entire wall to themselves featuring almost every single game from almost every single company signed up with their payment service, including the aforementioned Black Shot.

Holic 2. I played it when it was still just Holic Online, got sick of the grinding. I think they added the Ranger class or something similar since I left. I didn’t realise netgame already signed up with Cherry Credits though.

Allow me to demonstrate what I meant by “entire wall”:

Blurry pic (like most of the other pics here), I know, but you get the point.

GameSafe was at the end with the Cherry Credits main booth. The girl there showed me a website which reviewed the software and ranked it #1 among many other major anti-viruses. You can’t sway me that easily with a single source though.

Some of the PCs appeared to be under maintenance…though I imagine this could have been done before the press came.

Demonstrators showing off the Wii Fit on-stage…and the audience is silent. Actually, it was deserted, save for a middle-aged couple and a few photographers who had nothing better to do with their DSLRs. Those poor demonstrators.

Well, that’s it for this part. The next part will cover other stuff, as well as the cosplay (though not a lot of it, since my N78’s camera died. -_-

Before I go, here are the (approximate) release dates for some of the MMOs mentioned so far:

  • Emil Chronicle Online – end of year 2008.
  • Elan Online Version 2 – “soon”. I’ll post when I get the e-mail (which will be when it’s ready).
  • Xenjo Online – 2009, give or take.

And a shot of MySims Kingdom, because I happen to think it’s cute. 😀

7 Responses to “Games Convention Asia 2008 – Part 2”


  1. September 21, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Dude, set your camera ISO to Low sensitivity, or else the noise is going to be very noticeable. Hold the camera steady when pressing the shutter, so that you don’t cause the imaging sensor to pick up a blur image.

    If possible, use the camera at an area with good lighting, or turn on the LED flash and go up close to the subject. This helps to improve image quality. Your composition is very well done; now you only need to keep these little things in mind to get great pictures. Or get a dSLR

  2. September 21, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Fail games are fail. No new good MMO’s are going to come out as usual. Always the same old shit.

  3. 3 TheFuzzy
    September 21, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    @pkchukiss: Fsck, I didn’t think of that.

    @Panther: When you keep taking hits at the genre, eventually you’re going to run out of ideas.

  4. 4 cooldude
    September 22, 2008 at 11:52 am

    try this site for Xenjo Online
    http://xen.gameflier.com/ (chinese)

  5. 5 rex
    September 25, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    a’kum. ask u ah…anything else that u saw for the holic 2 exhibit? was kinda shocked that holic even showed its face there lolx….am eagerly waiting for the big patch and all those features they’ve promised us…

  6. 6 TheFuzzy
    September 28, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    @cooldude: Thanks…though I’ll pass. I can’t read Chinese.

    @rex: No, in fact there weren’t even any demo stations for anyone to try out Holic. I would’ve even played a bit if there were.


Leave a Reply

I has moved!

Pages

del.icio.us! :D


