24
Sep
08

Games Convention Asia 2008 – Part 3


Image Source: Somewhere in SGCafe

At last, the cosplay. It’s sad I have to use a borrowed picture for the header image.

Then again, I didn’t go outside to take pictures of the cosplay, so I never actually saw her. She’s earned “t3h cut3n3ss” award from me. orz

Also, a lot of the pictures are noisy and blurry. In fact, none of the pictures I took of the cosplay competition are even barely “readable” since I zoomed the camera, and apparently on a Nokia N78, zoom = apply 10.0 Gaussian Blur.

*sighs*

I don’t have the best of cameras, but good lord let me freaking zoom without any loss in quality!

Anyway, let’s move this forward.

The cosplay in the actual competition was alright I suppose, save for that contestant wearing that cardboard face. -_-;

The top 4 winners were (in order):

  1. Warchief Thrall AKA The (semi-retarded) Hulk in Shining (not really) Armor, won a ticket to Blizzcon
  2. The (proportion-challenged) Lich King, won a Nintendo Wii
  3. (Bow-detail-lacking) Blood elf archer, won an au:sense chair
  4. Kasumi from DoA, same as #3

Notice something? Anything at all? That’s right, the first 3 winners happen to be the only ones participating that were cosplaying as WoW characters!

I suppose you could throw a few arguments in, e.g.:

The others didn’t look that great. The quality of the top 4’s cosplay was so much better that the rest of ’em. Those guys had like cardboard armor and stuff. The Lich King used dry ice for smoke effects, yo.


Image Source: Popcorn Gaming

So, pray tell, why didn’t the Knight Templar (from the now-defunct Hellgate: London) guy win anything? Personally, he looked way cooler than The Hulk (lighting ftw), and deserved to at least win something. In fact, Thrall shouldn’t have been in the top 4, we should have had the Knight Templar. Even Thrall’s hammer fell apart on stage lol.

My theory’s been de-bunked as I finish writing the entire post though, since I do remember the emcee (who was a real idiot according to some) mentioned a theme which could earn you extra points. That theme happened to be anything Blizzard. orz

I still think Thrall shouldn’t have gotten first prize of all things. Moving on.

I never really went outside to look at the cosplayers though, since I’m an epic fail.


The King playing his own game.


MySims culture shock.

Since I can’t really comment much on cosplay at this point (except for the obese Shana that appeared, which none online have taken a picture of, NOT SURPRISINGLY), I’ll just go on with the gripes I faced.

But before that, I’d like to cover Popcorn Gaming, one of the booths in the GCA. They were showing off a lot of WoW merchandise, such as the WoW TCG, as well as the WoW: Wrath of the Lich King beta on a flat screen TV, but what was notable was this particular item:

That’s right, that is a well-made replica of THE Frostmourne, the same blade wielded by Arthas that allowed him to rise as the current Lich King. It even has runes “carved” into the blade, and can be considered a “real blade”, since it’s sharp enough to cut someone…or even kill. :O

It retails at under a thousand dollars, so I doubt it got sold, since nobody goes to the GCA to buy a $1000 blade. I think you also have to get approval from the authorities to even own this blade, so that’s more moolah out of your pocket.

The Lich King cosplayer went to this very booth, and the people there were so impressed they took the entire blade out of the glass showcase box and let him hold the blade in his hands.

It looked so much cooler than his cardboard/foam Frostmourne. lol

Well, that’s it for interesting stuff. Now for the griping.

You had 2 ways of registering for the event: online and on-site. I registered online as a public visitor, and when I arrived, I went straight to the registration counter and told them I registered online. The people there asked me “Where’s your e-mail?”

I paused. I had checked my e-mail that morning, and I was sure I didn’t receive any e-mail. I’m checking my e-mail right now, too, still no e-mail. WTF.


Even Sadako felt like getting murdered herself.

In the end I had to register on-site, which was like a big waste of time. Better yet, I’ve heard accounts that say registering online did nothing; you still had to register on-site for “security reasons”. So why in flying fsck did you even have an online registration in the first place?!

You also had to register on-site for every single day just so you can get the “GCA Public Visitor” sticker which would allow you free entry. :/

And lol, on the first day, simply by standing in front of the door, me and my brother formed a queue.

And then there was the goodie bag collection. Let me illustrate how it went in a short 4koma:

The funny part is, both the pictures in the 2nd and 3rd panels of this comic were taken one after the other, so there were 2 queues for goodie bags from 2 separate booths formed at the same time. For reference’s sake, the queue on the left (2nd panel) is for Zealot Digital, while the other’s for Runup.

Zealot Digital made you pay SGD $1 for one of their goodie bags, and even then you could only collect purchase them at specific times. I didn’t get their goodie bag because it didn’t felt worth it at all, especially those “Lover’s Gloves” I noticed in the bags. Wtf is a lover’s glove?

Runup, on the other hand, made you collect signatures on a “gaming card” by playing some of their MMOs and doing certain activities, those being having your picture taken (as part of their portfolio, no doubt) and taking part in a survey. I managed to obtain one of these cards (which were only available for the first 50 people in each session), but as soon as my session began, something happened.

The Internet connection got cut.

So there we were, holding our gaming cards and no games to play (servers can’t be reached), so they compensated via miscellaneous. Everyone had to perform miscellaneous tasks instead, like answering a simple question or listening to some guy drone about the game, etc etc etc.

I managed to get through all that without yawning (too much) and got my inflatable panda…thingy. Woo.

So, overall, this convention’s been fun. I managed to play some of the latest games, see some MMOs that were otherwise unknown to me, and meet some of Team Blue in person again.

Oh, yes, almost forgot. I mentioned a Citsu in Spore in the first GCA post.

That up there’s the Citsu. It’s (more or less) based off the (gay-looking) guy below:

For the uninitiated, he’s the guy holding Panther‘s (guy in blue shirt) shoulder, and staring at the camera. That’s CI. Alright? Alright.

So THERE, this overdue post has been done, one less post in the backlog. And thanks to this post, I completely forgot about my Java class today. EPIC FAIL.

*sighs*

5 Responses to “Games Convention Asia 2008 – Part 3”


  1. September 25, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Teh digital zoom is basically the phone cropping the picture for you; you get the same effect by taking the picture without zoom, and then editing it in Photoshop. Hence, to get the desired pictures, you need to move closer to the target, and not use the digital zoom. It’s worse than useless

  2. 2 TianJiang
    September 25, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    (: Dun forget to remind me when the games are officially opened ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 3 TheFuzzy
    September 28, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    @pkchukiss: Isn’t this camera supposed to have OPTICAL zoom?
    If I recall, other phones actually just CROP the image instead of expanding the cropped area to original image size.

    @TianJiang: Some of the games are already open, I got quite a few e-mails already.

  4. October 2, 2008 at 1:25 am

    @TheFuzzy: Erm…. No. Cameras with optical zoom will always boast about it, because it’s better than digital zoom. Read the specs on Nokia’s website

  5. 5 http://adultvideogames.wordpress.com
    August 2, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    whoah this blog is wonderful i really like reading your articles.
    Keep up the good work! You recognize, a lot of people are hunting round for this information, you could help them greatly.


Leave a Reply

I has moved!

Pages

del.icio.us! :D


