16
Oct
08

Fall Animu: First Impressions


Source: Pixiv

Finally, I have the opportunity to post something like this, considering this blog started after the last anime season.

Gonna make this quick tho, I have to research Apple’s “brick” of a laptop.

Here’s the list of anime I watched, in case anyone needs to skip straight to the section of their choice.

  • Kannagi: Crazy Shrine Maidens
  • Tales of Abyss
  • Shikabanehime Aka
  • Toaru Majutsu no Index
  • Kuroshitsuji
  • Hyakko
  • Gundam 00 S2
  • Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka

Kannagi


Your friend neighbourhood mahou shoujo tree spirit.

This reminds me of Wagaya no Oinari-sama (which I have yet to finish); an ancient spirit shoved into the modern world with no prior knowledge, though this time she’s pretty much helpless and depends on the male protagonist to help her.

The mahou shoujo part was hilarious, and while Jin (the male protagonist) isn’t immune to his hormones (blush blush!), I’m glad since there’s NO FANSERVICE. Comedy + no fanservice = must watch for me.

And this is why I’m not watching R+V C2. Ever.

Tales of Abyss

Another JRPG to anime. Show seems alright so far. Animation quality’s decent, no crappy seiyuus, though the storyline’s gonna be a lil’ predictable, being an adaptation of a JRPG. Hurhurhur.

Also, OP and ED are decent, but they show waaaay too much of the episode. Might be alright for those of us that played the game and know the entire story, but for those like me, you’re just spoiling the fun. :/


MIEU~

I’ve fallen in love with Mieu though. He’s just that cute. Mieu~ :3

Shikabanehime Aka

I have no idea why, but I always seem to be disinterested with gritty action-based anime. This one features a (undead?) girl who goes around killing her kin (who have no qualms about killing). She also dual-wields pistols.

Hawt.

Kuroshitsuji


And you weren’t expecting the place to burn?

This one reminds me of Jigoku Shoujo, but with extra comedy. Hell, even the Sebastian himself has a humorous side to him; telling his incompetent colleagues (who the hell hires those guys anyway?) off whenever they screw up. Strangely enough, those three never seem to realise what the hell’s actually going on “behind the scenes”. 😉

I’ll probably continue watching this. Hopefully won’t forget and let this one fall into the backlog along with the likes of Nanoha and ARIA. Hurhurhur

Hyakko

It feels like Lucky Star and Azumanga Daioh shared a bed one night and out came Hyakko from that lil’ incident. Maybe a bit of Haruhi too, judging by Torako’s behaviour (and the coincidental fact that she’s voiced by Aya Hirano. Heh.).

Will I continue watching this? Oh, hell yes. If I can enjoy Sketchbook, I can sure as hell enjoy this. Two slightly different genres, I know, but whatev’.

Also, screengrab taken from Tenka Seiha, because my brother’s laptop died and I don’t feel like downloading the episode for a single frame.

Gundam 00 S2


Colour-blind pilots. Perfect.

Finally, the wait is over. We get to see how the storyline picks up after that cliffhanger of a finale in the first season. Somehow, though, I don’t believe Setsuna rebuilt his Exia alone: I mean, did he drag it all the way in space back to the body, reassembled it, and acquired some large piece of cloth that happened to be floating nearby as well? That is one damn hardworking Meister, especially since not even the reformed Celestial Being didn’t find him until he emerged to (attempt to) kick ass.

OP is Hakana Kumo Towa no Kanashi by UVERWorld. NICE.

Akane-iro ni Somaru Saka

I watched this on a whim, and it seems to be another “guy surrounded by girls” anime. Sure enough, it’s an adaptation of an adult visual novel. Somehow, though, the protagonist, Jun’ichi, is the only guy in his class sans his best friend, Fuyuhiko. Alright, there are others, but they don’t seem to exist (e.g. talk on their own).

The kissing scene was just wtf. I didn’t get what happened. Ah well.

Toaru Majutsu no Index


You haven’t thought this through fully.

An eye-opener, this anime’s about a futuristic society where genetic modifications to allow supernatural powers (e.g. Bioshock) are pretty common and centers around a really unlucky guy, also an esper (what they call those modified buggers). Suddenly, he meets a girl who claims there’s magic in the world, and he doesn’t believe it (although getting attacked by other espers is normal for him), and his life takes a major turn after that (I guess).

I love the setting. I love the OP. I love the humour. I’m not going to say anything about the action (though it’s pretty decent so far). To think I watched this on a whim. That’s right; upon seeing screengrabs from other websites I thought it was some generic fanservice-happy “let’s partner and fight!” anime like Sekirei, but I WAS WRONG. AND I’M HAPPY I WAS PROVEN WRONG.

This one’s my favourite, along with Kannagi and Gundam. Hurhurhur.

I still have more to watch tho, like Chaos;Head, another VN-adapted-to-anime, though it wasn’t an adult game. It seems it’s a “wtf” anime, where the main protagonist (who’s a hikikomori/otaku)experiences delusions, similar to NHK ni Yokoso, and according to some the anime itself has been FUBAR-ed in the transition from game to animation.

Meh.

2 Responses to “Fall Animu: First Impressions”


  1. October 16, 2008 at 10:39 am

    KACHING! I HAVE NEWS FOR YOU! TORAKO IS VOICED BY ORIKASA FUMIKO!

    Ayumi is the one voiced by Hirano Aya. Know your seiyuu.

  2. 2 TheFuzzy
    October 17, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Yes, yes. I stand corrected.

    I wrote that part first, telling myself I’d double-check it. I forgot in the end.


Leave a Reply

I has moved!

Pages

del.icio.us! :D


